Pollsters on my back

This blog has been dormant for far too long and it’s time for a reboot. Now that Land That I Love has been in print a couple years and I have three or four more projects almost ready for daylight, using the LTIL moniker for this site no longer makes sense. Instead, I tried to think of a name that conveys the common thread among these works. I settled on the Latin phrase Auctor Lanx Satura which translates as “don’t encourage him”.

So let me start off this renewed effort at blogging with a song — one that captures the spirit of the season and pays homage to one of the greatest bands of all time. (If you want to know how it’s supposed to sound, here’s someone’s Youtube video with the real lyrics.)

Pollsters on My Back

(apologies to Eddy Grant)

Well I’m running, pollsters on my back
I’ve been hiding, pollsters on my back
I’m in a swing state, pollsters on my back
“Are you Hispanic, white or black?”
 
I’ve been running
Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
Running
Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
“How will you vote?”
“How will you vote?”
 
“Which candidate has earned your trust?
And which one fills you with disgust?”
These dicks are impossible to avoid
Since they got the number for my Droid
 
I’ve been running
Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
Running
Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
“How will you vote?”
“How will you vote?”
 
I’m running
Running
Running
 
“Early voter? Absentee?
Do you stand up or sit down to pee?”
If this is democracy
I’ll go back to Doomsday Preppers on TV
 
I’ve been running
Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
Running
Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
“How will you vote?”
“How will you vote?”
 
‘Cos I’m running (pollsters on my back)
Hiding (pollsters on my back)
Running (pollsters on my back)
Hiding (pollsters on my back)
 
I’m running down the railway track
Could you help me? Pollsters on my back
Is this survey real or just some party flack?
They can’t tell the Clash from the fuckin’ Knack
 
I’ve been running
I’ve been running

Leave a Reply

