Last-minute reading on Long Island

My dear friend Karen Levine from the Long Island Writers House gets me the most interesting gigs.

Just a few months ago, she scored me a reading at Walt Whitman’s birthplace. But she contacted me last night and outdid that.

I’ll be reading Friday night at the Women in Words event at His & Hers Bar & Lounge, 259 Post Road, Westbury, N.Y. Sponsored by the Greater Westbury Council for the Arts to commemorate Women’s History Month, the “evening of celebration, inspiration and joy”┬áis scheduled to run from 6-10 p.m.

I don’t know when I’m scheduled to read, or how strictly the five-minute-max rule will be enforced. But somewhere in there I’ll be reading from Mighty Mighty. I’ve selected the scene where Supermodel meets her spirit guide. How is a crowd who came to hear feminist poetry going to react? I don’t know, but this frat-boy-turned-funny-man plans on wearing a cup.

Anyway, hope to see you there!